Moore Than Just A Club

Hammers Boss Moyes: “It’s Amazing That A Three Panel Said No And Another Three Said Yes”

West Ham United Manager David Moyes has expressed his bemusement about the FA decision to charge midfielder Manuel Lanzini with deceiving a Match Official during Saturday’s away win over Stoke City.

The incident in question came about in the 19th minute of the match when Lanzini was fouled on the counter-attack in the box by Potters defender Erik Pieters.

Referee Graham Scott pointed to the penalty spot at the time and Mark Noble put the Hammers ahead, they later went on to win 0-3 courtesy of goals from Marko Arnautovic and Diafra Sakho.

Here’s what Moyes had to say about the incident in his Pre-Arsenal Carabao Cup Press Conference at Rush Green Training Ground, which MooreThanJustAClub were lucky enough to attend,

“The Referee was ten yards from the ball, nothing blocking his vision, clear to see the defender makes an attempt to go for the ball doesn’t get it.

So, from my point of view, they are going against the Referee if that’s the case, I think whoever the panel were, I could have said the Goals on Sunday panel, the Goals on Sunday panel said it was all a definite penalty and nothing to talk about”.

The former Manchester United Gaffer continued, “So, I don’t know how you can judge that one, I think it was a really tough call and a really hard call but on the day, the Referee gave a penalty kick”.

The panel he is discussing is, of course, the independent team, comprised of an ex-Official, an ex-Manager and an ex-player, who decide whether to charge players on these grounds, he later referred to them once more,

“As I said to you before, It’s amazing that a three-panel said no and another three said yes, so that tells me, I know three weren’t on a panel but three were on a Television panel said yes”, stated Moyes.

“So, from that point of view it actually makes it a decision that is not clear, I think even Graham Poll has eluded to that as well”.

Lanzini, an Argentina International, is the second English Top-Flight star to be caught “diving” under the new FA rules, the first being Oumar Niasse of Everton, who received a two-match ban for an incident at Selhurst Park.

For retrospective action to come into play, the player must have simulated contact in the box and won a penalty, thus tricking the Referee or Linesman on duty, something that both Lanzini and Niasse were judged to be guilty of.

West Ham United have until 6 PM this evening to respond to the charge, but just what did their Scottish Boss have to say about the possibility of launching an appeal?

“We’re going to have a talk about it this afternoon, we are going to think about what we are going to do, but we will look at it”.

He is expected to be without his No10 for tonight’s Carabao Cup Quarter-Final trip to the Emirates Stadium to face off with Arsenal, from which you can catch live updates on our Twitter page @MooreThanAClub.

And, Saturday’s home League visit of Newcastle United, but appeal or no appeal, the Football Association are confident to have the issue resolved by tonight.

To prevent further incidents, many have put forward the suggestion of Moyes needing to discipline the star, however, he clearly thought there was no need for that in the Bet365 Stadium Changing Rooms,

“After his performance on Saturday, the only thing I said to him was how well he played, he made the first goal, he created the other two, he had a brilliant performance”.